Let’s Move On

Oklahoma, where the wind comes sweeping…through, or down?….the plain. I honestly have no idea. What I did find out last night though? Oklahoma is R-E-D. And so is pretty much the entire rest of the middle of the country, and also the South.

Suffice it to say I’ve got some Republican friends and family members who are pretty torn up right now about the results of the election. I’ve got enough forwarded e-mails in my inbox to choke a moose, and my facebook feed has gone haywire with long, emotional rants from people who’ve never posted anything ever. Some of my friends are strangely silent; I think they may have actually exploded.

I should probably call and check on them.

I will tell you that I’m fine with the outcome. I will also add that no matter what political party we find ourselves backing, we should be pushing for a greater cause. And while we have talents and success and money, they do not belong to us. And though we love our friends, family and country, God loves them all more. And like any good parent, He knows what is best for us–even if what’s best for us is harder, scarier, or more painful.

My daughter so eloquently put it this way: “God is not in Heaven saying, ‘Dang it America! Why didn’t you put Romney in office?’ No. He’d be all like, ‘Oh wait–I’m GOD.’ ”

I love my daughter. She is so smart. I think she meant something to this effect:

“He controls the course of world events; he removes kings and sets up other kings. He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to the scholars.” Daniel 2:21NLT.

Stoked or disappointed, shall we carry on with the business of the getting of our asses back in gear? Because like it or not, the president is the president. And God is still God.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

2 responses to “Let’s Move On

You must be logged in to post a comment.

