Easter 2013

I, the Lord of sea and sky
I have heard my people cry
All who dwell in dark and sin
My hand will save.

I who made the stars and night
I will make the darkness bright
Who will bear my light to them
Whom shall I send?

Here I am Lord
Is it I Lord?
I have heard you calling in the night
I will go Lord
If you lead me
I will hold your people in my heart.

I the Lord of snow and rain
I have borne my people’s pain
I have wept for love of them
They turn away.

I will break their hearts of stone
Fill their hearts with love alone
I will speak my word to them
Whom shall I send?

Here I am Lord
Is it I Lord?
I have heard you calling in the night
I will go Lord
If you lead me
I will hold your people in my heart.

I will hold your people in my heart.

My favorite church song is “Here I am Lord”. I’ve loved it since I was in middle school, when my friend Alexis would play it on her violin at church and the priest would play the guitar and the whole congregation would sing this particular song a little louder than others. I can so clearly remember my mom’s voice as she sang; I can even remember the high notes that she sometimes didn’t hit.

In an elementary school made out of the world’s oldest, weirdest building, surrounded by a concrete block wall topped with barbed wire, in the middle of the Pinetamare ghetto in Naples, Italy, our mass was held; the spirit that filled that grungy cafeteria was the sweetest thing.

God brings His light to our darkness. He breaks our hearts of stone and fills them with love. The only natural thing to do in response is to humbly offer up our whole selves in service to Him, the one who made us, who saves us, and who loves us more than we can imagine. May everything we say or do, today and everyday, bring honor and glory to God.

Happy Easter.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

