Making Friends.

I woke up at 5:58 this morning to the unquestionable sound of the “White Fang” theme song blaring in the living room. This rad tv series from the early 90’s has been a favorite of Merrick’s ever since Caleb bought it home on DVD like a prized fish. It’s since then popped up on Netflix and now there’s no stopping my kids from watching it every. single. morning.

It’s not meant to be a comedy but Cheyenne and I have tried to find the humor in it, snickering from the kitchen as we resort to bad lip-reading  and ad-libbing and whatnot. I can’t even watch this show without laughing hysterically anymore on account of our private jokes.

Stupid ripped-jean teen Matthew Scott in stupid Montana or some junk–always getting into mountain shenanigans and needing to be rescued. His pet wolf is forever having to save him. The little kids think this show is totally bad-A, but Cheyenne and I know better. I think what annoys us the most about it is that Matthew and his family predictably manage to become friends with even the most formidable foes by the end of each episode. The town drunk; the trigger-happy mountain man; the scruffy dude who sets up dog fights; the bungee-jumping bully; the leather-jacket-wearing, motorcycle-riding surly bad boy…and his maniacal little brother.

But of course whether he knows it or not, Matt’s doing exactly what God wants us to do. Get out there and make friends. Love others. Don’t be a doormat, but have patience. Don’t judge them, but help them.

Go and make disciples…

How do you make someone a disciple without making them a friend?

I had a freaky dream last night that I was at Target for booster shots, and I got locked inside with the manager for hours. He told me his life story and I told him mine and he gave me an awesome red shirt. At the end of our conversation he asked me to come to the Celestial Moon Church of Satan over on the corner of 24th and Main. I told him about Jesus and he said “Sounds great! I’d much rather do that, but I volunteer in the toddler class at my church, so…”

I dream-walked into the parking lot and a dream-thought/God-command occurred to me: Find out people’s names. Make friends wherever you go. Tell about Jesus wherever you go. Plant the seeds. And lose the red polo shirt.

You guys pray for me to get braver and more loving, okay?

And way to go, White Fang–you go, White Fang.

“Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.” (John 8:7)

“But I say to you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.” (Matthew 5:41)

“There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.  We love because he first loved us.” (1 John 4:18-19)

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

