Creative Differences

Today I am not talking about the tornado. It’s really sad and I haven’t been able to put any thoughts together.

Instead, I am looking at some fantastic photos from last week’s art class about African art. Note that attendance is down–this past month has been so crazy for everyone.

Suddenly, tempera paint:

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Uh, yeah. So how cute are they? Turns out kids like doing African body art. They took to it like ducks to water. They totally dug painting on themselves and each other.

There are tribes in Africa that still do this. They paint on each other since they don’t have mirrors; the speed at which they can get themselves all dolled up is astounding since there are “professional” artists who take years to recreate a similar effect in paintings. My little class was covered in paint from head to toe in a matter of minutes; it was an absolute no-holds-barred free-for-all, and it was glorious.

This particular activity was over in 20 minutes. It took me no less than 2 hours to scrub rainbow-colored handprints and footprints off the concrete. After the Jackson Pollock incident in the garage last year, I dared not leave evidence of our artistry all over the back patio for my husband to have a heart attack about.

It was so worth every skinned knuckle.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

