Whirlwinds. Geez.

Friday, May 31st: It’s been almost a week since Cheyenne left for Maryland. Mia took command of her room within minutes of her departure. I’m talking clothes hung in the closet, stuffed animals relocated, posters taped up; I walked back there one afternoon to find Mia, chillaxin’ on the double bed, eating a sandwich and watching a movie.

Life is good for Mia right now.

Before Cheyenne left, we celebrated her birthday:

The cupcakes that made me hate myself for life.

The cupcakes that made me hate myself for life.

17 years old, people. That is no joke.

As far as I can tell, she is doing great over there. I really, really should have been  on the ball as far as teaching her to drive and getting her a driver’s license, because now she’s stuck at the house during the day while her dad and stepmom both work. Yesterday she walked to Subway like Jared. I feel terrible. But other than that, she’s having a good time.

Tornado season is kicking our butts here in Oklahoma. This week we’ve been on high alert every afternoon as terrible storms roll through, producing tornadoes in  what seems like every town but ours. After last Monday, everyone is on edge and when the sirens go off, my head explodes a little…okay, a lot.

Ready for the shelter again.

Ready for the shelter.

Ready for the shelter.

Ready for the shelter again.

Summer is in full swing. Our kids are sleeping past 7:30 and it’s glorious. They have officially been out of school for a little over a week. I love having them home, but they’ve turned wild over the past year–I’m pretty sure someone is gonna lose a tooth in an unnatural way before this day is over. As I write this, Merrick is wheelbarrowing Mia–who has roller skates on her hands–up and down the tiled hallway.

It’s whatever.

I love summer.

The dogs are thrilled.

The dogs are thrilled.

Problem: they both go for the snack shelf no less than 4 trillion times a day. I know for a fact they can make it from 8:00 to 3:00 without cookies, so what gives? I will congratulate myself, though, because I’ve managed to come up with the perfect breakfast solution: parfaits, made of fruit, yogurt, and honey bunches of oats. With sprinkles, to further secure my rockstar-mom status. And clear plastic cups, too–because we’re fancy like that at my house.

It is ALL about the sprinkles.

It is ALL about the sprinkles.

I myself am on a diet at the moment so I can’t eat the delicious parfaits that I make. No dairy, no bread stuff. I gained a little weight over the past several months, especially while I was pregnant. Turns out that eating cheese grits for dinner 4 nights a week packs on a certain amount of pounds. I’m 24-hours away from ending an especially brutal cleanse cycle, and when my cheat day starts tomorrow, I am going to drink an inhumane amount of coffee. In fact, I will single-handedly save the coffee business in one day, because it had to have been suffering over the past week and a half, what with me being on the wagon and all.

And that’s the scoop. Think I’ll go make sure my kids aren’t jumping off the roof or something.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

