The old abandoned, old abandoned building on Main Street.

The sun is out. I made both my kids some awesome breakfast parfaits to go, plus a delightful peanut-butter and jelly sandwich for Mia’s lunchbox. I helped Merrick with the homework that we forgot to do last night. I took out the trash and I walked the turtle. I’m wearing a cozy sweater and today is a great day.

Here’s what else I am doing: trying to plan a super kick-a gallery night for my art students. It’s slightly overwhelming because I have 13 kids this time around, which means there are 13 projects for 5 weeks. I’m too lazy to do the math but I’m estimating there will be a crud ton of artwork to display and frankly, our town’s community room at the public library might not have enough space.

Now, in our beautiful small town there is the most perfect little building on Main Street. It used to be a church; then it was the library. Now it’s empty. I have empty old building/church/library lust. This space would be so killer as an art gallery–or a studio–or both! Holy schnikes. The big giant arched windows? The wood floors (that I’m sure lie under that awesome green carpet)? Tiny town, are we seriously doing nothing with this building? Can I have it? Can you tidy it up a bit and rent it out to me for gallery nights? Or can I just have it? Am I right?

Am I right.

I am right.

If the building was for sale (and if it were reasonably priced), I’d scrap my farmhouse in the country and go stone-cold, full-force Main Street. (I’m sorry, bff. I’d love to live next door to you but it’s THE OLD LIBRARY WITH A BUILT IN ART GALLERY!) It’s such a cool building. In fact, here’s a picture of it, taken on a Halloween night about 6 years ago:

010

 

Okay, I guess I was kidding. I thought I had a picture of it but apparently I only have a picture of the sidewalk in front of it. Sorry. But isn’t little pirate Mia cute? And dig the hubster, looking so bone-thug in his flannel and rocking a stately faded visor.

Sidenote: I love our town and our librarians and our friends. October in Oklahoma is probably one of the reasons we’ve chosen to live here until we die. It’s that awesome.

Well–back to planning gallery night in the small room at the new library.

I had to surf the net for 4 seconds to find it, but here's a helpful shot of the front door, which accounts for approximately 1/20th of the building. You're welcome.

I had to surf the net for 4 seconds to find it, but here’s a helpful shot of the front door, which accounts for approximately 1/20th of the building. You’re welcome.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

