My Twisted Obsession

I’m sort of embarrassed to admit this: when I was little–like, from the time I was nine or ten til, um, thirty-three–I drew house plans.

Tons of them. On graph paper.

No twelve-year-old was happier than me when my mom bought me a Southern Living House Plans Magazine to look at for fun. I designed houses, neighborhoods. 18-bedroom mansions, teeny tiny gingerbread cottages–all on the same street. Notebooks upon notebooks of floor plans straight from my melon. The only reason I never wanted to do it for a living was because I am no geometrist. (I’m pretty sure that’s a thing.)

But now, my weird hobby is paying off, because I just designed us the most kick-ash house. This week, Caleb took our ideas to a brilliant seventy-year-old cowboy/architect, and in no less than 24 hours he got back to us with a masterpiece:

 

IMG_4064

Excuse me while I make out with myself over this business.

 

And so the ball is rolling. Things are coming together. It won’t be long before we have to pack up and relocate to this dirt:

 

dirt

 

Squeeeee! You guys. I’m like Jessie Spano–I’m so excited.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

