current event

Can I just be real here? Duck Dynasty: I kind of hate it. Sorry–the show is corny at best. There’s way too much camo going on. Beards gross me out, though I must admit I was just recently moved to tears by Phil Robertson’s “I am Second” testimony, and overall I love the way he and his family represent Jesus.

So do I think Phil Robertson’s beard is old-fashioned and stupid and disgusting and terrible in every way? Absolutely. But it’s his facial hair and it belongs soley to him and he’s not hurting anyone, and he’s treating everyone with respect, and not shoving his beard in all the people’s faces, so I guess he can do with his beard what he wants, as horrible as it is.

It came as no shock that he held to his beliefs the way he did in that interview for GQ–though I was a little confused as to why he was even in GQ in the first place. Duck Dynasty is everywhere. I’m kind of surprised that it’s taken this long for someone to try to topple it by bringing up the big gay question in an interview. What’s the guy supposed to say? “Well, as you know, I believe in the entire Bible whole-heartedly except for what it says about homosexuality because I think God–the creator of the Universe–missed the mark on that one” ??? Now, granted, he did have a somewhat tasteless response…but we are talking about a 60-something-year old duck-hunting redneck from the swamps of Louisiana.

But also: if A&E wants to fire him because they don’t want him representing their network (that’s only awesome because of a show about his family) then they’re perfectly well within their rights to do just that.

And another thing: He could have presented his beliefs in a much more Christ-like way. But I guess he owed it to the beard to use his customary “coarse” language and thus became a cringe-worthy example of how not to make peace with a group of people who are already scared to go in a church.

Here’s a thing: Gay people are not bad people. They’re not second-class citizens. I love me some gay people. I love me some all people. The laws in this country give everybody a freedom of religion and a freedom of speech, and that’s a beautiful thing. I want to be a Christian who believes and follows and spreads God’s word for the rest of my life. I know that not everybody is a Christian; sometimes not even the people who claim to be Christians are Christians. Being a Christian can be hard. Setting yourself apart from the world while at the same trying to reach out to your fellow man? Can be hard.

Here’s another thing: Jesus said in the new testament that marriage is between a man and a woman. Sex outside of God’s design for marriage is a sin based on most everything you read about it in the Bible. Christians aren’t trying to belittle or bully or enslave or convert or condemn anyone by honestly stating what they know by faith to be true on this matter. This is a non-negotiable fact according to the Bible that will never ever change, no matter what’s currently and culturally acceptable or popular.

And now, here’s some things that God seriously doesn’t approve of:

  • Greed.
  • Laziness.
  • Gluttony.
  • Anger.
  • Hate.
  • Lust.
  • Adultery.
  • Divorce.
  • Not taking care of your children.
  • Not taking care of the elderly.
  • Not taking care of the poor.
  • Not taking care of the orphans.
  • Not taking care of the widowed.

I was a sinner like no other. I am a sinner still, though I struggle with all new sins now. I am one of the sinningest sinful sinning sinners I know. I’m disgusting; I disgust myself.

We all struggle with one thing or another. No one person here on earth is the slightest bit perfect. I can say with certainty is that Jesus changed my life and He changed my family and He changed the way I look at others. My heart breaks for those who haven’t experienced His saving grace or the hope that only He gives. And should I get the opportunity and the privilege to witness and minister to a fellow sinner, I hope I am able to do it with patience and kindness and a loving heart.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

