The most brazzle-dazzle day.

Saturday morning. Pancake morning. Not really, my pancakes suck so I made 6 pieces of french toast and I fed them to my kids who were squawking like baby birds. And then we went to the property to paint window trim.

Background info on exterior black paint: it’s thick. It’s sticky. And here’s a fun fact about Oklahoma: the wind really does go sweeping down the plain. So by the time Cheyenne and I had gotten through about 3 boards, we were covered in black goo and red dirt. I tried to sing “Brazzle-Dazzle Day” but wasps were buzzing around me and loving on all the wood I was trying to paint. Cheyenne wasn’t feeling my song, dust was in my eye, and well, people: house-building is just not as glamorous as Pinterest would have you believe.

Funny story: Tomorrow is Easter Sunday. Us girls are covered in black paint that will only semi-come off with a hot bath, some bleach soap, and a scotch-brite pad. In the morning  we will look like beautiful tar babies as we meet-and-greet a thousand people at church. Everyone will comment on what soft hands we have, though.

Oh, AND we are having a baby girl! I know I know I know. This was my face:

my face

I couldn’t have been more shocked, but God clearly thinks we need another daughter–and so here we are.

People left and right have been guessing our name choices so I feel compelled to throw some bones here. A warning: Nothing says “completely traditional pot-smoking hippy” like our style. I think folks would have been disappointed with our not-so-out-there boy favorites: Duncan, Conrad, Titus, or Lincoln–our top pick being Duncan, Scottish for “warrior”. The middle name was still up in the air, but I liked Ezekiel, which means “with God’s strength”, because Caleb and me? We are just deep thinkers like that.

…..

And because tomorrow is Easter, let me leave you with a short story about one of my new favorite songs: A few weeks back, I was having crappy pregnancy problems for an entire 7 days before the dreaded 12-week check-up/ultrasound with my high-risk doctor. I was nervous as junk, and no amount of prayer was easing my mind, the night before or the morning of my appointment.

Ordinarily I’d listen to some soothing music in the car on the way into town, but our CD player is broken and my radio only picks up one Christian station. I tuned in, and lo and behold! A song was playing just for me.

I listened to the thing in its entirety, then started to flip channels to find something decent to listen to. The craziest thing happened: I suddenly got in–loud and clear–another Christian station, this one playing the same song from the very beginning. When it was over, I turned the dial again–to yet one more Christian station that I had never been able to get before–and my song was playing. From the beginning. Again.

I got to listen to this whole song 3 times, all the way to the doctor’s office. My worries weren’t totally gone, but my heart was calm and my soul was so uplifted that morning. It was clearly the power of prayer gone crazy; I haven’t been able to get those other two Christian channels back in on my radio since that day.

That song is Lord, I Need You, by Matt Maher. Call me cheesy and you would be right. These words were so freaking strong and true for me on that day and on every other day, probably til I die. I heart God so much.

 

Lord, I come, I confess
Bowing here I find my rest
Without You I fall apart
You’re the One that guides my heart
 
Lord, I need You, oh, I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You
 
Where sin runs deep Your grace is more
Where grace is found is where You are
And where You are, Lord, I am free
Holiness is Christ in me
 
Lord, I need You, oh, I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You
 
Teach my song to rise to You
When temptation comes my way
And when I cannot stand I’ll fall on You
Jesus, You’re my hope and stay
 
Lord, I need You, oh, I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You
 
You’re my one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You

 

 

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

