Obligatory May Meltdown.

Now entering the most stressful 2 weeks of the year in t-minus…oh, wait. We’ve been in def-con 5 since the beginning of spring.

Correct me if I’m wrong, local folks, but has ball season gotten absolutely out of control this year? Or is it just me? I don’t know what kind of crack the t-ball organizers have been snorting, but Merrick’s team was scheduled for 26 games from April 1st to the end of June, making for a grueling 5-month long season if you include practices starting in March, plus make-up games into July. The family of this kindergarten boy thanks you, small-town little league moguls! Actually no we don’t, and I’m thinking of asking if you’d like to come clean my neglected house and soothe my overtired children at ten o’clock p.m., once they’re finally back at home, fed, and bathed. And I hope you’re making a crapton of money off of our never-ending gate fees. (This is where I stop talking before words like horse$#!* make their way into the conversation.)

Mia’s team is a different story. They’re working hard and doing great. Mia has struggled a little bit the mornings after a few later practices, and there have been a couple tournaments we’ve had to bow out of, but overall I would say the schedule has been reasonable for her age and commitment level.

She could not be cuter.

She could not be cuter.

I know not every family sees eye to eye on this, and that’s cool. The problem where I live is that there is no alternative league for people who play sports for fun. And I love softball! I love the competition. I love a challenge. I’m glad my kids are playing. But I don’t think the entire family needs to suffer, coming home cranky 4 out of 5 weekdays, and being more exhausted than rested after the weekends. When we’re too tired for church because of a Saturday tournament, or we can’t get up for school the next day without tears because of a late night game or practice? Then it’s time to make some changes. We will be finishing out this year’s ridiculous t-ball season, but will definitely be discussing options for 2015.

Oy. Rant over. Here’s all the fun stuff we’ve been doing on the side:

 

Going to COLLEGE ball games.

Going to COLLEGE ball games.

Mowing crazy paths on our property.

Mowing crazy paths on our property.

Siding houses ourselves.

Siding houses ourselves.

Drilling holes in our fingers while siding houses ourselves.

Drilling holes in our fingers while siding houses ourselves.

Getting our pictures put on school walls for future generations to admire.

Getting our pictures put on school walls for future generations to admire.

Winning awards left and right.

Winning awards left and right.

pwning face at public speaking.

pwning face at public speaking.

Cheyenne has had banquets and award ceremonies out the yin-yang. Merrick’s birthday tomorrow. Spring band concert on Thursday. Parents coming into town on Saturday. Graduation Sunday and Bacccccclauariwhatever plus family graduation dinner celebration. Graduation itself on Monday. Softball games, ultrasounds and appointments, packing up Cheyenne’s room, her giant AP chemistry and pyschology tests–all set for next week. And then, Cheyenne leaves forever on Friday afternoon.

 

I haven't had actual wine in years, but sometimes you just feel better drinking out of a fancy cup.

I haven’t had actual wine in years, but sometimes you just feel better drinking out of a fancy cup.

 

And when all else fails, and I start to feel overwhelmed or depressed, I have this lovely gem of a poem that Mia wrote to me for Mother’s Day to treasure forever:

Um...boom.

Um…boom.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

