27 weeks and rambling.

House building fact: The money you save by installing siding yourself conveniently covers the doctor’s visits, x-rays, and fancy boots you have to buy after you fall off a ladder while siding the second story of the house you are trying to save money at building.

Caleb is super-adorable these days with a big fat swollen foot, courtesy of a dislocated toe. He’s lucky that’s the only thing wrong with him–he took quite a tumble out on our property last week, all by himself in the middle of nowhere. I go back and forth between feeling sorry for him and wanting to strangle him with my bare hands. Now I know how he feels whenever the doctor tells me to rest but I really want to sweep the floor.

We are now researching handymen to come finish up what little of the job there is left; Caleb’s ladder-climbing days are over, at least for the next 6 weeks. Our freezer has never made so much ice before.

In other news, I failed my glucose test with flying colors. (Yes, the same exact one I totally aced at 12 weeks.)

diabeetus elf

 

What can I say? I’m pregnant and I like to eat things.

Tomorrow I get to go back to the lab on a completely empty stomach and chug a gallon of rotten orange syrup. That party’s gonna be crazy.

Also my nurse called me yesterday afternoon:

 

“Hello?”

“Yes, hello. Is this Toni?”

“Yes, it is. Hello.”

“Toni, how are you feeling?”

“Fine. How are you?”

“Well, I’m calling to let you know you failed your glucose test and we need you to come back in this week for your 3-hour.”

“Wow, seriously? Bummer.”

“Yes, and also your platelet count is low so the doctor wants to keep a close eye on you.”

 

I don’t know what these alleged “platelets” are and I don’t really care, but if I can’t have my epidural you can bet your sweet diabetes I’m stopping by the liquor store on the way to the hospital for my natural childbirth. Labor and delivery nurses will finally be all like:

epidural nurse

 

 

Yesterday Caleb and I took the kids to see “How to Train Your Dragon 2”. I love how I can say that we took the kids. We took ourselves, and the kids had no choice but to come along for the ride.

SPOILER ALERT: I’m a big fan beautiful animation, and also of bearded vikings voiced by Gerard Butler, so the movie was awesome for me. Until they actually killed off Stoic the Vast. They totally went there. It was upsetting to say the least. But I basically had movie popcorn for dinner, so all was not lost.

Monday starts off VBS week at our church. I’m exhausted just thinking about it, but I am excited, because this year? I get to hold and rock little babies in the little baby room. “Toni, how about volunteering in a room where you can sit quietly cuddling newborns?” Score 1000 for this high-risk pregnancy!

And that’s pretty much everything that’s happening around here and I’m done writing and now I’m gonna go eat chicken and spinach or some junk like that.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

One response to “27 weeks and rambling.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

