Breastfeeding Week: To Each Her Own.

Did you guys know that this week is National Be Awesome At Breastfeeding Week, or something like that? Cause I didn’t.

Truth be told, I don’t care. But then I read this article about how bottle feeding and breast feeding are exactly the same. Know what I realized? Nothing new at all. And also–I still didn’t care.

What did get me were these statements: “There’s going to be drama on the Internet this week, ladies. Moms like to shame each other. We do it because we’re exhausted, or frustrated, or feeling unsure about our own parenting choices.”

Really?

Moms out there? Are we doing this? Do I do this? Am I shaming? Cause that’s just cold. You guys are struggling just like me with an unlimited number of things related to, but not limited to, breastfeeding vs. bottle-feeding, cloth diapers vs. disposable diapers, homeschool vs. public school, and so on.

Honestly I’m not so much worried about your decisions as I am completely absorbed in all my own troubles (read: minor inconveniences.) I care not how you feed your baby. Nothing personal, but screw you guys–my 1st-grade son just poured a gallon of water all over the living room coffee table for no apparent reason.

What’s with all this talk about mom-guilt? I gotta call some BS here. None of my friends do that to me, and if they do, I’m gloriously oblivious–or: I’d ignore them and then not be their friend, kind of like my momma taught me to do when I was 5. And sure, there are some judgemental-sounding books and articles written on the virtues of one parenting technique or another, but guess what? I don’t have to read them…mainly because I’d rather be eating a cookie or thinking of a way to get a present.

Mom guilt? Is this real life? Why are moms guilting each other? Where does that even happen? Shouldn’t we all be doing something constructive, like guilting dead-beat dads, or going out for pedicures?

Here’s this:

  • I don’t care if you’re a working mom. I’m not one, mainly because professional finger-painters are not in high demand right now.
  • I don’t care if you bottle feed. I’ve done it. It’s fine. I breastfeed now because I can, and also because formula is too expensive for us.
  • Disposable diapers? Totes hassle-free and I love them. I’m giving cloth diapering a shot this time around because it seems pretty cost efficient and I got the time to throw them in the wash.
  • Five-step crib set up in a fully tricked-out gray-and-pastel colored nursery? That’s cool and I’m kind of jealous. My kid is going to sleep in a laundry basket on the floor in a corner of my closet. It’s going to be awesome.

Another thought: maybe we’re too sensitive. Maybe we just feel like other moms are shaming us, when it’s really our own insecurities talking. I know I feel terrible when people come to my house and I’ve got a 4-inch layer of dog-hair covering the floor. I don’t want other moms to know I serve hotdogs and canned corn to my kids for dinner on the nights that we’re out of cereal.

But I will tell you this–my real friends have never done anything to make me feel guilty over a bad call or two…or 800.

Only God can judge me, plus maybe my baby. And if history repeats itself, my baby? Is going to spend a lot of time smiling and exploding out the back of her diapers–not critiquing my mothering skills.

Moms, just do what you do and rock on with your bad selves. Love your families and raise your kiddos to be kind people. End of story.

And because you’re probably still cringing over the corner-of-the-closet comment, here are some pictures:

Definitely thinking laundry basket. I'd push Caleb over the edge if I asked him to put together a crib right now.

Definitely thinking laundry basket. I’d push Caleb over the edge if I asked him to put together a crib right now.

...but I WILL see if he can build some cubbies, so there will be so much room for activities in here.

…but I WILL see if he can build some cubbies, which will make so much more room for activities.

Perfect spot to look out the window and pretend I'm not wiping poop off a butt.

Perfect spot to look out the window and pretend I’m not wiping poop off a butt.

The OTHER side of the closet...now you CAN judge a little bit. And may I point out that a minor 15% of the hanging clothes are actually mine?

The other side of the closet…now you CAN judge a little bit. And may I point out that a minor 15% of the hanging clothes are actually mine?

 

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

