Setback Part 2

Hang on a second while I go ram my face into a wall. Advice to a would-be home-builder? Kill yourself.

Or hire a contractor. And do mountains of homework ahead of time. We are experiencing some annoying (read also: frustrating beyond belief) setbacks in our construction progress.

I dare not go into extreme detail but I will tell you that one sort-of funny problem involves the city limit lines recently being re-drawn to possibly include our house and NOWHERE ELSE AROUND IT–all our neighbors’ properties and 80% of our yard is not inside city limits, but our house might be. So we can have farm animals, just not in the middle part of our front yard (or in the house). Go home, city-limits drawer, you’re drunk.

It’s kind of just the icing on the cake to an incredibly long and way-more-difficult-than-expected process. Oy.

So it very well might be Christmas before we’re in there, flushing toilets like we own the place.

And I say I’m aggravated, but really? It’s fine. I’m annoyed, Caleb is stressed, but we really do have everything we need. Having to sort things out, having to wait longer than we planned–these things are absolutely no big deal.

All the seemingly big problems that we stress to death over are not the end of the world.

We have each other and we have our friends. More importantly, God sees what’s in store for our family and He’s got it under control. This may involve giving up everything we own and moving to Timbuktu. I think it’s important to keep that perspective when the pursuit of earthly luxuries start to overwhelm my thinking–and I can’t say that I haven’t been pre-occupied and anxious with all the work and planning that’s gone into this farmhouse.

People tell me “You needed a bigger house, remember? You wanted land, and animals, right? You guys have poured so much time and effort into this thing. Aren’t you so upset?” Well, there are people living with so, so much less–and they’re happier than most people I know.

In Luke 12 vs 13-21, Jesus tells his posse about a rich man with a plan. He owned a ton of property and had more grain and food than he could handle, so he decided he would build barns and storehouses to hold all this mad abundance of stuff. It seems like a reasonable enough action in this day and age, where everyone works hard for what they have and we’re all so frugal and proud of ourselves–but Jesus tells the crowd that the man was a straight-trippin’ fool, because that very night, he would die, and everything in all his extra storehouses would be pointless rot.

I can plan and plan, and build and dream, but none of it is important, especially in the end.

So with that in mind let me always remember to be grateful, no matter where we live, be it a big fat farmhouse (outside the city limits), or a tiny apartment in a booming metropolis. Pray that we will always use our home to love and serve others.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

