Getting there.

Alright alright alright! Sheet rock is in da house! And for the first time in forever, I can really, really envision what it’s going to look like when it’s all done.

IMG_0669.JPG

IMG_0673.JPG

IMG_0665.JPG

Also, our driveway has rocks in it now so we don’t sink into the mud on rainy days.

Let us camp out here for a sec: this is the house I drew. This is the house Caleb literally built (and is still building.) I love that it’s finally coming together and I just know it’s going to be a house that our kids can enjoy in all the ways I pictured them enjoying as I dreamed up every nook and fun little cranny. It’s also kind of mind-blowing that Arbor will not remember a time when we didn’t live there.

One glistening tear.

And then back to unchecked hysterical excitement.

We are planning to play it fairly safe as far as finishing touches but the creative side of me wants at least one stand-out feature. Barnwood accent wall–too overdone? (It is a farmhouse in a field in the middle of the country, after all.) And what about the regular stuff? What if I get bored with a white subway tile backsplash? What if I end up hating that mushroomy gray color that we used in all the rooms? I want–I need–an overall calm house, but my heart loves me some taxi-cab-yellow.

Can someone just come pick everything out and put it all together?

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

