The stress is talking.

Build a house, they said. It’ll be fun, they said.

Maybe it is fun, if you like divorce.

I’m kidding.

Or am I?

I totally am, as I sit here in a rocking chair with a baby attached to my chest and a feverish little boy sleep-moaning in the bed beside me. Tomorrow was going to be a day of construction clean-up–of buffing floors and stacking wood, and shop vac-ing sawdust–of quality time with the husband, who I feel like I haven’t seen in ages and who was probably relieved to have a helping hand out at the property, where he has spent so many long lonely hours over the past year.

Except it’s January and I forgot that at any given moment a child can and will come down with strep/flu/MRSA/ear infections/rabies/head lice/pink eye, thus canceling our best laid plans and pushing back the “schedule” yet again.

Guys? I’m not so sure building our own house was a good idea.

Caleb works and coaches and parents–now we can officially add “builds” to his long list of accomplishments and responsibilities. Me? I sit on my butt and make milk with m’ boobs.

And when he finally comes home from hammering/wiring/tiling/falling off ladders, I am in such a frazzled, emotionally volatile state that I can’t even carry on a normal husband-wife convo–which is probably for the best, since he is too exhausted to speak anyway.

And if you know Caleb, you know that he is usually never at a lack for 80,000 words. Per minute.

We are both tired and worried and over it.

Y’ALL. This house-building stuff is not for the faint of heart, and I wish I had known that 2 years ago–because I happen to have a very faint heart.

So if you’ve just acquired some land and are thinking about building, stop, and re-read this post. Be prepared to hire a contractor or, better yet? Stick a trailer on it. Boom. Building!

I’m sure this will all be worth it. I’ll leave on an optimistic note by posting some progress pictures:

2015/01/img_1394.jpg

2015/01/img_1340.jpg

2015/01/img_1339.jpg

2015/01/img_1143.jpg

2015/01/img_1108.jpg

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

