Gut check.

Been thinking about God a lot and mind-boggling questions concerning Him and the universe, and the laws for living here on Earth and about the history of mankind, you know, since I am deep. Everyone seems to have it all figured out except for me and maybe one of my dogs. (The stupid one. I’ll let you decide which one that is.)

Here is some stuff I know: God created us special. God loves us hard. God sent His Son to die in our place. God has power over creation. God has power over evil stuff. God is good. God wants us to love and serve each other. God is the bomb diggity.

This is what I try to teach 2 and 3 year olds every Sunday. This is what I try to teach my own kids every single day. This is what I try to remember in my own brain all the minutes of my life.

Are there other important things to know and study? Of course. I don’t think you can really grasp the necessity of the New Testament unless you’ve read and understood the Old Testament. But until one has the basics down, one will only sound like a complete moron haggling over details that theoretically don’t even pertain to him (yet or ever.)

If I don’t love God deep down in my heart, then what does it matter to me what God says about _____? If I don’t love God, why should anyone care what I think about Him?

If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. –1 Corinthians 13:1

Basically put: I can talk about God and religious philosophy all day long, and I might actually be knowledgable in that area, but if I go around being a total dick, then all my talk is just loud, annoying sounds.

We all struggle with doubts from time to time. We all have our questions. Issues that might be up for discussion:

•”Can I not drink a beer with my donuts?”

•”Are women supposed to wear calf-length dresses and over-hairsprayed bangs-n-buns?”

•”Should I use an actual rod to beat my children?”

•”How many donuts can I have with my beer?”

But there are truths about God that everyone will be asked to deal with in his or her own time. It boils down to either acceptance or rejection–there’s not really a middle ground with the big stuff.

When your heart is right, your actions should follow suit. Attitude yields behavior. It does not work the other way around.

“The fruit that the spirit produces in a person’s life is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.”–Galatians 5:22

And you can’t add stuff to God’s grace, because it wouldn’t be grace; i.e. “I believe Jesus died for me plus also thank goodness I’m like, a really good person.”

“If you try to be made right with God through the law, your life with Christ is finished–you have left God’s grace. I say this because our hope of being right with God comes through faith. And the spirit helps us feel sure as we wait for that hope. When someone belongs to Christ Jesus, it is not important if they are circumcised or not. The important thing is faith–the kind of faith that works through love.”–Galatians 5:4-6

Do you let the details bring you down? Is your faith in the big stuff shaken when faced with differing opinions on the little stuff? Have you put your trust in a person or group of people here in this world only to be let down when they neglect to speak, act, think, and breathe like Jesus Christ, son of God?

The important thing is faith–the kind of faith that works through love. I can’t say it any better. If this is something that is true to us, it will be clear through our attitudes and actions and most importantly, our relationships with all people.

2015/01/img_15751.jpg

I’m not sure why I find trolling delicious desserts so funny. But yes, beautiful lady. God has plans for all of us. And hopefully flans, too.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

