Throwback Sunday

Many of you know the story of how Caleb and I found luv in da club on February 1st, 2002. I remember the date well, because one of my best partying friends had skipped town with her family to go see Punxsutawney Phil for Ground Hog Day, and I could think of nothing more lame.

And so I went out that night with my other awesome partying partner-in-crime. Here we both are on that Friday:

IMG_1055

I had my mind set on finding somebody beautiful to make-out with in the parking lot, so when I saw Caleb walking up the stairs all smokin’ hot, I almost had a conniption fit trying to figure out a way to talk to him. (Most girls would simply strike up a conversation, some would buy a hot guy a drink, but me? I was going to trip him with my clonky shoe.) Turns out, my friend knew him, and she knew him well.

Caleb and I were introduced, and the rest was history. (Though we did make out in the parking lot.)

13 years, 2 states, a few jobs, a couple houses, and 3 more wonderful children later, here we are. Not a day has gone by that we haven’t at least talked (at length) on the phone.

I just wanted to have fun and be single and let my hair blow in the wind; I won’t even say what Caleb just wanted. To this day I still crack up how God decided to put the two of us together. It was like He knew what kind of team we’d make, and where we’d go and how we’d parent together. I’m so excited to see what kind of things God will have us doing years and years from now.

Marriage is hard, yo. And there are days where I’m just not sure how (not if) we’re going to make it. We have seasons of happiness and love, and we have seasons of stress and aggravation. Hard times inevitably come but they also inevitably go.

Another thing that I wish I’d figured out a little sooner? I can’t unfairly count on Caleb to give me what only Jesus can.

That said, I thought I loved this man 13 years ago. I had no idea. No idea. I am more proud of him and more in love with him with every day that passes. I cannot even imagine what I will think of him in 13 more years. He’s my favorite, and my best, and I just love him.

IMG_0304

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

