Coincidence

“My God, My God, why have you forsaken me?” –me, with a stomach virus. And also Jesus.

God hasn’t forsaken me though. But I do just need my mom like so much right now. Merrick and I had a heckuva night/morning; there is no sign of this bug easing off so the rest of the day is looking promising (as far as weight loss goes).

God hasn’t forsaken our country. Sure it looks all doom and gloom on this super Wednesday (because a looming Hilary vs Trump election is the stoff of nightmares and obscure Family Guy episodes).

“He controls the course of world events. He removes kings and sets up other kings. He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to the scholars.” Daniel 2:21

It’s important to know that Daniel didn’t live during a time when the Israelites had a good king or even when they had their own country–Jerusalem had been sacked and all the people were prisoners in Persia somewhere. Definitely not the best of circumstances yet Daniel knew that God was on it, and he could remain faithful no matter who was in power or what the culture around him was like.

  
And while I’m not at all impressed with the candidates our country will soon have to choose from, God saw it coming from a billion light years away. So if the next president has us in World War 3 against Russia and Mexico by February, and we have to ration coffee and get around by bicycles only, my heart has peace.

Even though the no-coffee thing would be super challenging and I’d have to lean on the good Lord like never before in my life.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

