Still in the game

Aaaaaaand I’m powerless on my back in bed again. (Gettin’ real tired of your crap, uterus.) It’s December 31st, the last day of 2016. I have a crazy random cold and all my systems are spazzing out. I feel like I’ve been run over by a tank; and then someone came back, cut my head off, and made me eat my own head. Also I may be having some mild hallucinations due to a severe fast food deficiency, which wasn’t a problem during my nauseous early months of pregnancy but now that I’m in my second trimester, it is a serious issue that can no longer be overlooked.

I honestly don’t know what to prepare for in the next day or two much less for the next several months. Last week I was on cloud nine awaiting what I was sure would be the “all-clear” doctor’s appointment. I may have been slightly over-eager and done *a little* more cooking/cleaning/standing than I should have. And now here I am. Snotty and stuffy and crampy and exhausted–but you guys:

My heart is light. I’m good. I don’t know what is going to happen and I don’t know what to do about it, but God is with me, and every little thing is gonna be alright. It’s been a gloriously mild winter so far. I am surrounded by family and friends. And I still have my surprise baby #5, who is a blessing to my heart in every sense of the word.

Plus, there is so much joy to be found in the seemingly mundane world of bed rest. This morning I had an enlightening thirty-minute conversation with Arbor about freckles. I’ve now seen all of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. I don’t have to feed the chickens or wear pants. As for this evening’s New Year celebrations, I don’t picture it going any different than it has in previous years:

Pretty much the standard Toni-issue NYE. Nachos and jammies. So dope.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

